LOHS Wrestling Goes for the Gold

by Danielle Cordero

The 2013 wrestling season is taking Los Osos to the top, and with their back-to-back wins, the season is looking real good for our boys. Along with their hours on end practices, the boys have sure brought a lot to the plate and have proven to be a force to be reckoned with.

Jonathan Solano, Los Osos Senior Varsity wrestler, said, “This year, I definitely believe our team will win League Championship and possibly even be CIF Champions. I expect that we take at least six guys to masters and hopefully three guys to state. For me, having God on my side, I’m expecting myself to be a CIF Champion, win Masters, and be a state champion.”

Turns out, Jonathan’s prediction proved to be true, and on January 30th, our wresting team became the League Champions. Samuel Baca, Tommy Kohl, Michael Pajaro, Dustin McNichol, Alex Miller, Andrew Romero, Jonathan Solano, and Travis Machneezy all won at the League Championship.

This year was the first time in all of Los Osos history going undefeated in the league. Michael Pajaro, who also won against Glendora High School which helped secure the team’s undefeated record, said, “This wrestling season for us is going great, we all have been wrestling to the best of our abilities in our duels and our tournaments. Individually, we need to have everybody step up to CIF and become CIF Champs.”

The next obstacle that these boys must tackle is CIF, which lands on February 15 and 16. Alex Miller, senior, who also won a match that helped make Los Osos League Champions, stated, “I think we have a lot of good chances at bringing most of our Varsity team to individual CIF. I also think we have a good shot at having a couple individual CIF champions and quite a few placers this year. I personally hope to be able to place for CIF again this year and qualify for Masters as well.”

The seniors this year have left such an impact on the rest of the team and helped set history by being the first undefeated league champions in the span of the first ten years Los Osos was in place. Greg Haun, Los Osos Junior Varsity wrestler, explained how this year had affected his outlook on his senior year.

“This year, I’m wrestling 152’s, and I’m really looking forward to CIF because I will be against so many talented wrestlers. Also, as a team, we have been doing really great and I’m just looking to get even better for my senior year. I’ve had the chance to train with a lot of the top wrestlers on my team and it’s made me a lot better of a wrestler.”

This year, in fact, the CIF Individual Tournament will be hosted at Los Osos High School. Therefore, our wrestling team will need as much support at possible. Make sure to show up and support our fellow grizzlies on February 14 and 15 at Los Osos High School.

